Governing Council Unit

Introduction/Brief History of the Governing Council

The law establishing the College, that is, Edict No. 20 of 1986 (now part of the body of laws of Lagos State) provides at Section (1) for a Governing Council which shall be the “governing authority of the College”. The Council shall have the custody; control and disposition of all the property and finances of the College. Council except as otherwise provided, shall manage and superintend generally the affairs of the College.

The same law further provides that the Governor of the State shall have powers to appoint the Chairman and Members of the Governing Council (Section 7).  In exercise  of this power, the then Governor of the State represented by the then Deputy Governor, His Excellency, Otunba Oluwafemi Pedro, inaugurated the Council on August 9, 2006 at the Conference Room of the Governor’s office at the State Secretariat, Alausa, Ikeja.

Consequently, the Council Affairs Division was established as a Secretariat of the Governing Council.


Mission/Objective of the Council Affairs Division

To report correctly, the proceedings of the Governing Council and its statutory Committees and ensure that all decisions are correctly documented and disseminated.


Vision: To strategically position the office as a reference point in terms of punctuality, record keeping, quick response to requests and dissemination of information.


Achievements: Members of staff of the Council Affairs Division use their varied experiences to serve the Governing Council.


Scope and Responsibilities/Services provided: The responsibility of Council Affairs include minutes taking of all Governing Council meetings and its Committees.

Related Units

Busary Unit
Governing Council Unit
The Library
Pensions Unit

Members Of Staff

S/N Name Qualification Rank/Status
1. Mrs. Osinaiwo Adeyinka Oluwaseyi NCE,B.A(Ed), M.ED Deputy Registrar
2. Mrs. Ogabi Airobomagbon Bosede B.Sc(Ed), M.Ed Principal Assistant Registrar
3. Mr. Babajide Adeyinka Joseph OND,HND, B.Sc,M.Sc Asst. Chief Executive Officer
4. Mr. Olunlade Adewale Doyin O.N.D, B.Sc(Ed), M.Ed Chief Confidential Secretary
5. Mrs. Owolabi Monsurat Kehinde OND, HND Asst  Chief Confidential Secretary
6. Mrs. Akran-Oketunde Adetola M.D. B.Ed, MPA Chief Clerical Officer
7. Mrs. Showunmi Adunni S. N.C.E., B.Sc(Ed) Chief Clerical Officer
8. Mr. Wheto Joshua Sewedo SSCE Dispatch Officer
9. Mrs. Kolawole Modupe FSLC Grd II Office Attendant
Personnel Affairs (Senior)
Training and Development Unit
Labour or Industrial Relations
Academic Affairs
Personnel Division (Academic Staff Matters)