Sports Council

About Us

The College Sports Council metamorphosed from Sports Committee to Sports Council in 2008 with the same objectives and functions.


In order to ensure the expected contribution of sports to the overall development of the College, the mission statement for the Sports Council shall be:
  • The provision of quality service that will enhance the acquisition of skills, techniques and tactics useful for efficiency in Amateur Sports for students and gainful leisure time for staff and the entire College Community.
  • To support institutional sports development at the State, National and International levels.

Main Components of the Council

The following are hereby identified as the main components of the College Sports programme:
  • Institutional Sports: These include Intramural and Extramural Sports Competitions.
    • Intra – School Sports Competition
    • Inter – School Sports Competition
    • Inter – Club Sports Competition
  • Extramural Sports include:
    • Zonal Tertiary Institutions Games & Friendly Games.
    • Lagos State Tertiary Institutions Game and Friendly Games
    • Nigeria Colleges of Education Games Association
    • Nigeria Tertiary Institutions Games Association
    • West Africa Colleges of Education Games Association.
    • Other Invitational Games at the State, National and International levels.

Philosophy of the Council

 The creation of the College Sports Council stems from the yearnings and aspirations of the stakeholders in the development of sports at Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education, Otto Ijanikin Lagos.  The conviction that sports offers a unifying force and is an avenue for bringing people together regardless of their religious affiliation, ethnic background, cultural leaning, geopolitical background, and ideological differences attest to its importance in the society. Sports has become part of the modern society as its influence is being felt in all facets of the College, the State, National level and the World as a whole.
Above all, sports philosophy is informed by the College aspiration to use sports as a political propaganda for the advancement of democracy, international recognition and the preparation of youths for self reliance.
Other values promoted by sports are as follows:
  • Development of knowledge and mental alertness.
  • Development of physical skills and fitness.
  • Development of desirable social attributes like discipline, honesty, tolerance, and positive competitive drive.
  • Providing a database for future elite athletes.
  • Identification of young talents for local, state, national and international sports competitions.

Infrastructural Facilities

Sports Field, Indoor Sports Hall, Basket ball court, Tennis Court, Volley ball court, Two Standard Table Tennis boards is available in the College.


The College Management ensures that the Sports Council is adequately funded. In essence, as with other endeavors, finance and sponsorships are vital requirements.

Related Units

Student Affairs
Internal Audit
Information and Public Relations

Members of Staff

There are three (3) substantial coaches and one (1) Part-Time Coach at present in the Sports Council of the College.

1. Mr. Hamzat R.O Diploma ’99, ITTF LEVEL 1 Coaching certificate ’10, B.Sc.Ed in view ’16 Assistant Principal Coach
2. Mr. Oroleye A.A. NCE ’93, BEd ’98, Ph.D in View ’16,  MEd ’06  Assistant Principal Coach
3. Mr. Sunmonu M.S NCE ’01, B.Sc.Ed ’05, MED ’09, Ph.D in View ’14,    
4. Joyi S. Y. TC II ’00, B.Sc.Ed ’08, M.Sc.Ed ’11 



The above mentioned coaches are automatic members of the Sports Council.


1. Dr. Ayoade T.O           Chief Lecturer Chairman (SOS Rep.)
2. Mr. Layiwola L.A                   Chief Lecturer  Member  (Fote Rep)
3. Mr. Keshinro O.T         Lecturer  Member (SVTE Rep.)
4. Dr. Akanmu S.O.           Lecturer  Member(SLAN Rep.)
5. Mr. Alagbe A.A.     Senior Lecturer Member (SASS Rep.)
6. Mr. Oyeyemi S.O.    Senior Lecturer Member(SEDU Rep.)
7. Mr. Lajide E.O.      Principal Lecturer Member (SOS Rep.)
8. Mr. Issa Y. O.    Assistant Chief Exec. Officer   Member(SLAN Rep.)
9. Mr. Ishola A. A.    Senior Lecturer Member(SECPED Rep)
10. Mr. Adewale A.N.      Asst. Chief Nursing Sister Member (Clinic Rep.)
11. Mr. Ayegbe I. Senior Assistant Registrar Secretary
Community and Corporate Relations
Students’ Industrial Work Experience Scheme (SIWES)